Holy crap! I can’t believe that today marks 6 months of being a practicing RN! It has been the craziest, most surreal time of my life and I can honestly say that I am so happy with my career choice.

Being a nurse has been the most challenging time in my life. There are days where I feel like I am the worst nurse ever and that everything is going wrong. These days I really struggle with. I’ve learned to turn to my coworkers (who usually are having just as bad of a day) and breathe. We’re constantly reminding one another to take deep breaths and that if there’s anything we can do to help we’re there. This is the most important thing. Working with the team that I do has been a lifesaver. I trust almost all of them and feel like I can go to them for anything. They’ve welcomed me with open arms and have taken me under their wing to help me become the best nurse I can be. I love my North 8 girls more than I ever thought possible.

Being a nurse has been the most rewarding time of my life. The good days definitely make the bad days worth while. When a patient tells me that I’ve made their day or when they ask to have me as their nurse the next day makes me smile. When a patient gives me a big hug on day of discharge I melt. Watching someone progress from extremely sick to stable enough to go home is awe inspiring and knowing you played a part in getting them there is the best feeling. I wouldn’t trade these moments for anything.

My advice for any new nurse (and don’t get me wrong, I’m still very new) is to stick it out. There are days that you’ll hate it, there are days that you’ll love it. Take everything in, ask questions and if you still don’t understand it ask the question again. Try and get as many opportunities to have hands on experiences. Nothing you did in the skills lab at school is how it is in the real world with real people and real feelings and emotions. The first 6 months I’ve learned so much and there is still so much for me to learn. I try and make it a goal to learn something new every day. Know that you’re going to make mistakes. Hopefully there are not life threatening. Use these mistakes as learning experiences. Despite being a nurse you’re a human being first.

These 6 months have been life changing. I can’t wait to see where the next part of the year takes me. I love the floor I work on, I love my coworkers, and I love my career choice. Find something you love and it’ll be the most rewarding job out there.

 

