I’m back with another story time! This one I didn’t think was ever going to happen, but then again I’m 24 and think I’m pretty invincible. I’m here to tell you about my very first car accident.

I’ve had my license for over 7 years now and this accident just happened last week. I can proudly say that it wasn’t my fault at all, but let me rewind back to the beginning.

I was in a really good mood that day. I had been canceled the first 8 hours of my 12 hour shift and I was only going in for a easy peasy 4 hours. What could I possible be mad about, right? The shift ended and I was on my way home. It was the usual..music blasting, singing like a fool. I got off the highway on the same exit I always take. I got onto the street that I needed and there was a city bus stopped at its usual stop waiting to pick people up. Since there were cars coming from the other direction I wasn’t able to go around the bus so I was sitting there patiently waiting for the bus to start going again. I look into my rearview mirror and I see this car flying up the street. I kind of had a feeling that this was going to be it but I figured the driver would have enough common sense to see my break lights and slow the eff down. If you guess that she didn’t, you’re right! She slammed into my rear end like it was nobody’s business. My car, being the super trooper that it is, didn’t have a lot of visible damage thank god.

The lady was so rude about everything. Questioning why I wanted her information, questioning why I wanted a police report. Get it together lady you just slammed into my car. We waited for the police and her filed the report. She sped off while I tried to collect myself. My brother and mom can and met me while I was waiting for the cop and my brother drove home with me. To say I was shaken up is an understatement. The car had always been somewhere where I felt safe which is weird since it’s probably one of the most dangerous places. Never the less I was able to drive and I wasn’t hurt besides a sore back.

I’m not afraid to drive or anything but I am definitely even more aware of the people driving around me. I drive a little slower, take my time. I don’t text and drive (not that I ever did). It made me more appreciative of everything a little bit more.

I’m happy to say that the woman’s insurance is going to cover all the damages to my car and we’re already up to $580 plus a rental car. It’s bad to say that I’m slightly excited hoping for more money in damages just because the woman was such a jerk to me. She got a ticket for following too closely even though she’s trying to say she hit black ice. Get what you deserve lady!

So there it is. My 1st car accident. Share with me your stories, or give me other story suggestions!

