I know I talk a lot about my relationship and break up with Tyler. I’m sorry if it’s not something that the few followers I have want to read but it’s a huge part of my life and, quite frankly, I use this blog as more of a diary than something that I expect anyone to gain something from (no offense and if I am helping you I am so beyond happy to be of service). If relationship stuff isn’t something you want to read about, you can go ahead and skip this post from me. Trust me I won’t be offended. Those of you that are choosing to stick around, I hope you can relate to me with this one. Here we go.

I’ve talked about how I’ve been on Tinder and now OkCupid which are both apps on your phone for online dating. Both are the same concept, you swipe left if you don’t like the person and right if you do. The difference is with OkCupid you can message the person before you match. I’ve been using this app more recently and like it a lot more. I find there to be less creepy guys looking for a quick hook up (sorry for anyone whose found someone on tinder). Anyways, recently there have been more guys who are messaging me first and aren’t creepy or weird or have something that is off putting for me. I’ve found myself holding longer conversations, exchanging snapchats, and asking if they want to text instead of just talking on the app. This is something I wasn’t really expecting. I find myself checking my phone more frequently to see if the one guy I’ve been talking to texted me back, I get excited when I get a snap from him, and I have no trouble holding a conversation with him. I’m slowly starting to get happy again.

Does this new found happiness mean that I’m finally moving on from Tyler? Is it wrong for me to be excited about meeting this guy? I hope your answer is no, because that’s what mine is. I’ve been thinking about this for a few weeks and I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s nothing wrong with moving on. It’s normal, it’s natural. Is it scary? Absolutely. It’s terrifying to think that I might be happy, and maybe even happier, with someone other than Tyler. As terrifying as it is though it’s okay to take the leap of faith. It’s healthy.

So this Friday I’m taking the leap and going out on a date with my OkCupid guy. I’m excited and nervous and terrified and anxious all at the same time but I know it’s for the best. We’re planning on dinner and drinks right now and we’ll see where it goes. I don’t want to jump the gun but I think I could like this guy. Part of me wants to like him. I want to know that I’m capable of liking someone again and having them like me back. It might sound selfish but I need the ego boost. We’ll see how things go on Friday.

Don’t be afraid to move on. Every step forward is one step closer to being happy again. No matter what you might think, you deserve to be happy. Get out there and take that leap, you never know what you might fall into.

